We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

¡ESSO! Afrojam Funkbeat (Full Album)

by ESSO, Vivian Garcia

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    This is the 12''LP record for ¡ESSO! Afrojam Funkbeat's debut album featuring two sides (eight songs). It is 180 grams and features a collage and complete liner notes and credits on the back sleeve.

    Side A includes: IWBWU, ESSO Strut, Sabrosa, Suenño Vivir
    Side B includes: Uno Somos Todos, Loc@s, La Lluvia, Mundo Vale

    Includes unlimited streaming of ¡ESSO! Afrojam Funkbeat (Full Album) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      $30 USD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    CD of the 2015 debut album.

    Includes unlimited streaming of ¡ESSO! Afrojam Funkbeat (Full Album) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 1 day

      $10 USD or more 


Sueño Vivir 03:55
Es como un sueño, vivir contigo. Si este es un sueño, no estoy contento. Te necesito, no te vayas con mi corazón. Dame el derecho, me quedo quieto, te digo en serio, soy sincero! No te vayas con mi corazón. Dame el derecho, yo soy sincero.
IWBWU 05:52
I want to be with you, so baby open up the door, I want to be with you.
Sabrosa 05:22
Sabrosa, querida, baila con el ritmo, Sabrosa chiquita, salva mi destino.
Loc@s 04:27
Eres tú o soy yo, yo no se Soy la loca tu eres mi loco. Sera sufficiente decirte que cada respuesta es muy poco. Cuando fuiste tomando fue gacho, No manches a mi desarroyo Por lo menos mantengo mis sueños, Viviré sin este oyo. Eres tú o soy yo yo no se Soy el loco tu eres mi loca Sera sufficiente decirte que cada problema me estórba Y no se porque te mantúve hasta calentárte la sópa Serémos un coche sin frenos pero yo no seré tu idiota. But I don't want to make you cry, I'm leaving out this town. You think you are so superfly, It's coming back around, finally coming back around.
Esso Strut 05:16
Got it get it on with a sound thats true, If there ain't nothing left let it do what it do. Got to want to let it all go. Play the soundtrack on your stereo. Con cumbia, con reggeaton con flamenco, con mas sazón Con rhumba, un reventón con afecto, con mas sazón. Baila lo mi gente, prendeté la ménte. Music, ambiente. La fiesta esta caliente! Vamos a empesar esta es la juventud Hechame el brindis, una pa salud Mi gente quiere alcanzar hasta el sol Alma y fe bajo de mi control.
Te Conocí 02:40
Desde el dia, que te conocí, mi corazon palpito por tí.
Voz Mayor 03:27
Voz Mayor Te dicen lo que puede ser Te cobran si tienes sed Una patrulla con hambre Esos politicos no son nadie El pueblo unido contigo contigo Nunca seremos vencidos Aqui si tenemos derechos Canta asta el cielo.
Si todos somos uno y uno somos todos Goza del ritmo baila con nosotros
Mundo Vale 04:46
El mundo se va acabar, si no vale la pena.
La Lluvia 04:30
La lluvia se va, me quedo seco, yo el matador. La lluva no esta, no se puede ver, y cuando sale el sol, la lluvia desaparece.
Cold Bed 04:51
If love is everything what am I to do? When everyday I walk the streets alone and I wake up to a cold bed too. They say "don't worry girl it's gonna happen when you ain't looking" Well, it's been three years now and I tell you I ain't seen a thing.
El mundo se va acabar, si no vale la pena. Poem by Luis Tubens


This album was recorded over the course of a year that witnessed the coming together of a "core" dedicated band in the global improvisational tradition of Latin and funk roots music.

Biography of the band:

Cultural consciousness, unity and celebratory dance are the ideals behind multicultural musical outfit ¡ESSO! Afrojam Funkbeat. The Chicago based ensemble perform a unique interfusion of Afro-Latin inspired compositions and jams. Influenced by the global troubadours and subversive thinkers of an emerging counterculture in the 70s and 80s, the band pays homage to the traditional and progressive while taking their own step forward.

The rustic rhythms of Fela spiced with the textures of Fania blend with an improvisational ritual resembling the Funk Brothers; all from the streets that birthed house music. ¡ESSO! has experimental roots with live musicians setting the stage for soul singers, “coro” group singing, and poetic emcees. This platform has cemented into a diverse group finding an outlet at global street festivals and venues with an impassioned heart on its studied sleeve.

ESSO began as the house band for a live music night in downtown Chicago. The cast of rotating members, pieced together from various recording projects and bands, changed from month to month until a solid foundation settled to host special guests and members. Co-founders, Armando Pérez and Kevin Miller, spearhead the group with a unified vision in focus. Both, with notable Chicago bands, Jugo de Mango and Suena Latin Jazz, respectively, bring experience and structure to the group. Along with an energetic pool of Djs, producers, organizers and bands, ¡ESSO! (El Sonido Sonic Octopus) began playing shows with emerging local talent and established nationa; and internationally touring artists alike.

More info at: essoafrojamfunkbeat.com


released June 21, 2015

All songs written by ESSO

Armando Pérez Engineered + Recorded
at Belmont Electric Studios, Chicago IL
Rollin Weary Mastered the album at IV Labs + mixed: IWBWU, Uno Somos Todos
Mark Yoshizumi mixed: Esso Strut, La Lluvia
Ezra Lange mixed: Loc@s, Mundo Vale, Cold Bed
Armando Pérez mixed: Sueño Vivir, Sabrosa, Te Conocí, Voz Mayor

​Armando Pérez - guitar, vocals
Kevin Miller - saxophone, coro
Dan Leiber - drums, percussion, coro
Ezra Lange - bass
Diana Mosquera -vocals
Puerko Pitzotl - percussion, vocals
Vivian Garcia - vocals
Luis Tubens - spoken word poetry
Juan Pablo Lugo - percussion, vocals
Julian Lloyd Harris - trumpet
Greg Spero - keyboards
Erin Marisol Corine - flute
​Ryan Schoen - keys
Boleszek Olinski - trumpet
Maurice Cade - trombone,
Boogat - vocals
Peter "Maestro" Vale - percussion


all rights reserved



ÉSSO Chicago, Illinois

ESSO is the bilingual fusion dance band project of Mexican-American songwriter and producer, Armando Pérez. Modern urban tropical. ESSO Afrojam Funkbeat & Sonic Octopus Records.

ESSO es la creación musical del compositor y productor mexicano-estadounidense, Armando Pérez. Música tropical urbana moderna.
... more

contact / help

Contact ÉSSO

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like ¡ESSO! Afrojam Funkbeat (Full Album), you may also like: